Dual boot: Unable to mount a NTFS partition on linux fix

I have dual booted Windows 10 with Ubuntu 14.04 LTS. I have my D:\ partition for all my data which I want to access from both Windows and Ubuntu environment. However, whenever I boot Ubuntu, I get a message that it cannot mount my windows data partition (D:\), and I can choose to either wait, skip or manually mount.

On forums everyone says the cause to be, “You are seeing this error because you hibernated Windows instead of shutting it down.” Which I wasn’t doing, I was shutting it down not hibernating. For the record, when you turn off Windows by hibernating it, you are essentially pausing the system and saving all of that information (into a big file called hiberfil.sys). Making changes to your Windows (ntfs) partition while it is hibernated could be dangerous – it could cause Windows to not resume from hibernation or to crash after resuming.

I came to know that Windows 10 by default does a hybrid ‘shut down + hibernate’ even when you shut down. This makes Windows 10 to boot up magically faster than it normally would have. So, even when I was clicking on shut down Windows internally actually didn’t close off completely which resulted in the error of mounting partition when I boot into Ubuntu.

Here’s the fix, in your Windows OS

  • Goto Control Panel -> Choose what the power buttons do -> Change settings that are currently unavailable -> Uncheck Turn on fast startup (recommended).

Click on Save changes. Now, shutdown Windows and boot back into Ubuntu.

If you still aren’t able to mount without getting errors, you may need to turn off hibernation completely. In my case, after a few days I started getting the error again so go back to Windows, open an elevated Command Prompt (right click on the shortcut, click on “Run as Administrator”), and input:

powercfg /h off

This should fix it. 🙂

Here's your chance to type xoxo

