LastPass: Password Manager for Ubuntu

Today, I have revisited some of my old notes and saw some sensitive information stored in it. To my horror those were not encrypted which made me think back on all my security and privacy measures in this world full of chaotic hacking where personal data and sensitive information are the most important things right now.

With that thought in mind I started looking for a one stop sensitive and personal data aggregator  which provides highest forms of security available to one now and I came across LastPass. It is available on all platforms – Windows, Mac, Linux, Android, iPhone, and Windows Phone. It even supports popular browser integration – Chrome, Safari, Firefox, Opera and yes even IE. So what else could I ask for? Follow the below steps to setup LastPass on Ubuntu.

  1. Goto https://lastpass.com/lplinux.php
  2. Right-click and save lplinux.tar.bz2 to your computer under ‘Home’.
  3. Once downloaded, run:
     tar xjvf lplinux.tar.bz2
     cd lplinux && ./install_lastpass.sh

    as your normal user. The script will invoke sudo as needed.

All setup!

I found this article interesting for the art of creating secure passwords. Check it out. 🙂

Here's your chance to type xoxo

